Eulogies, rock climbing, and book club.

What do these three things have in common? Nothing. I just wanted to get your attention. Hello, hi. The first part of the title is the true purpose of this piece. On Monday, April 10th, my husband’s sweet grandmother passed away at the age of 105. Conceptualize that age. She was born before the Titanic sank and preceded the invention of the car. Her eulogy was sweet, sincere, and perfect. It encompassed a love of bridge, church, and chocolate. Perhaps it was the deliciously blue sky as a backdrop or the songs of a robin, but the eulogy truly stuck my soul. On the drive home, I thought to myself,

What will my Eulogy say?

Morbid? Maybe. Hear me out. If you died tomorrow, what would you want your loved ones to say? Would you want your love of Chinese take-out and romance novels to be the focus? Perhaps you want your philanthropic hobbies discussed and a few sentences about the animals you rescued?

In the early part of my life, I put a lot of my self worth into achievement.

I am worthy because I made all A’s/got the dream job/etc

As I’ve leaned into my late twenties, I’ve learned that my self worth is built from my compassion, humor, positivity, and kindness. I want to be known for the type of person I was, not necessarily my achievements. This concept permeated into my workplace today and I posed the question to my colleagues. One of the psychologists at work told me that writing your eulogy is a true psychological strategy for motivating patients. It forces the patient to focus on the main priorities in life and identify your purpose and passion.

I ask you this question:

If you wrote your eulogy tomorrow, what would you want it to say?

I am humbled that sweet grandma lived to be 105 years old and I can’t comprehend the knowledge and sage wisdom she accumulated. Each day is truly a gift and I am going to spend it working towards becoming the woman I want to hear about when I’m listening on the other side of the clouds (in many, many, many years from now).

Be present, be kind, be the light.

unnamed-1.jpg

Natural beauty 

12 thoughts on “Eulogies, rock climbing, and book club.

  1. Man, I have no idea what my eulogy would say. I’m single, I have no children and no real friends to speak of. If I were to drop dead what would people say about me? I’m honestly scared to find out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • All the more reason for you to do this. Most people hide behind the shield of marriage and children as if that’s all there is too them..I’m sure for a woman of 105 years old they didn’t just talk about her husband and children. Take away those props who are you on your on merit? Remember Mother Theresa was single too.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. You’re psychologist colleague is correct. I do that exercise with my clients all the time. I work in substance abuse and it’s a way for my to help to them see themselves as more than just “addicts and alcoholics”. Allowing them to see themselves beyond that into recovery. It’s a powerful exercise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

