Hush Hush.

Nobody talks about it. Like, really talks about it. Anxiety is pervasive in our culture, yet we ignore it and continue to stigmatize its presence. I find this particularly popular in the world of women.  I personally have heard from many women who have reached out to me about anxiety, but we still deny that this is a public health problem.

 Anxiety Disorders affect 18.1 percent of adults in the United States (approximately 40 million adults between the ages of 18 to 54). – National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH).

Picture this: You are at a lunch with 5 girlfriends. Based on statistics, one of them has an anxiety disorder. That is pretty awe-inspiring in terms of prevalence. Here is my question, why are we STILL not openly talking about this?

American culture, especially southern culture, encompasses female perfection. You will be the perfect wife, friend, mother, sister, daughter and you will do it with luscious blonde curls and a Michael Kors watch. I suppose this facade of having it all together makes it difficult to discuss the burdens of perfection. Social media is also pretty damn toxic to our mental health. Trust me, I’m just as guilty of spending too much time stalking people from high school and gawking at the fraudulent perfection. Because we fill the internet with controlled happiness, it shifts reality. No one has it all together, but social media tricks us into thinking the opposite.

My wish is for women to be genuine with the struggles of life. It is hard to wear so many hats and it is ok to be anxious at times. Life is daunting, but also blissfully exciting. So, I challenge you…peel back the layers and share what is permeating through your spirit. There should be a community of support for anxiety, instead of silencing it. If I have a patient specifically come in to the practice to discuss mental health, I often share my own journey. Creating that tangible and emotional connection truly opens doors and leads to a better course of treatment. So this week, be open and honest with your struggles. You might find a charming community you never knew you had in life.

Granted, some people find that vocalizing anxiety magnifies its power. If you know this about your soul, then verbalizing it to others might not be an ideal journey for you. The anxiety adventure is unique to us all and it takes time to figure out your relationship with it. I am an open spirit, often sharing my story with furry Starbucks baristas and yoga class dwellers. Just find what works for you to alleviate the burden and find peace. In the words of my favorite yogi, Adriene, “find what feels good.”

Love and light.

IMG_0303

I find that nature is one of my favorite places to process anxiety. It puts a lot in perspective.

IMG_2832

My healthcare community of patients and coworkers is pivotal is this journey.

392760_10150529277899641_145207320_n

Find your one sounding board. For 20+ years, we’ve been swapping ideas and sharing trials/tribulations. Love you.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hush Hush.

  1. I’m happy to see this post! Anxiety has the potential to be a crippling mental disorder if we buy into it what it’s telling us: ohmygodohmygodohmygod!!!!. I had to ultimately seek therapy because I was so anxious, but luckily there are many ways it can be countered, and without the use of drugs (that will do who knows what in the long term). It is possible to be free again! Thank you for posting 🙂

    Like

  2. Wouldn’t it be nice if everyone could be more open about it? I have sat at dinners with friends fighting panic attacks unable to eat or drink and feeling miserable. Just wonder who else could have felt like they were dying on the inside at that very table. My struggle with anxiety has been my whole life, but only noticeably in the last 6 years. I’m way better off than I was at 20, and it’s all a learning curve. Thanks for sharing your story !

    Like

Leave a Reply

