Where Are You Being Led?

Keep close to Nature’s heart… and break clear away, once in awhile, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean. -John Muir

I am feeling extraordinarily landlocked.

Kemp and I are lucky enough to lead a life that involves a lot of travel and adventures. However, this whole work/grad school/clinical rotation thing is not exactly conducive to my wanderlust spirit. Traveling, ironically, brings me a great sense of calm. I feel serene and grounded when we are on an adventure.

I’ve never had a panic attack in the woods. That concept makes me giggle a little bit. I’ve been miles away from civilization with minimal supplies and never once been anxious. But, I want to crawl out of my skin waiting in a long line at Target. Life is weird and funny and keeps me on my toes.

I bought this compass for Kemp as a gift last year. It has very special coordinates and our favorite quote on the back. We felt led towards each other during vulnerable times. He is my compass, a guiding light back to the path. 12347981_10153756035629841_5584649096648018747_n

We are planning a weekend trip to Wilmington, NC in January. I always find life a little sweeter when there is an adventure on the horizon. Do you have holiday travel plans to see family or friends? Do you feel a calling to explore a new place?

 

Love and light.

2 thoughts on “Where Are You Being Led?

  1. Life circumstances make it difficult to “get out of town” very often, but there is always the looking forward to the next trip. We focus on the three or four day jaunt, thus, reducing stress in the preparation, as well as the expectation of the time when we are exploring the new place. Because of the short duration, we have enough time to explore and find new things in our possible walking journeys, but not long enough where it starts to be the same ole same ole. [I remember one trip to France, where everyone in my group was saying something to the effect, “If I see one more cathedral, I’m going to shoot myself.”]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

